Request Form
Tour Reservation Form
Early Booking Promotion

Turkish HOTEL
AWARDS 2012
Recommended by Guests

Акра Hotel поднимается на останки Византийского Большого Дворца Константинополя (Турецкий: Büyük Сарай), также известный как Священный дворец. Вы можете увидеть 2000 летние старые останки дворца в нашем ресторане на первом этаже. Дворец служил как главной резиденцией Восточной Римской или Византийских императоров от 330 до 1081г и был центром императорского управления более 800 лет.

Когда Константин I (император) перенес Римскую столицу в Константинополь в 330 году, он планировал оставить дворец для себя и своим наследникам. Дворец был расположен между ипподромом и собор Святой Софии. Он был перестроен и расширен в несколько раз, особенно императорами Юстиниан I и Феофил.


До начала 13 века, Большой Дворец служил в качестве основным местом управления и церемониальным центром города, хотя с начала эпохи Comnenian Влахернский дворец был как резиденцией императора. В четвертом крестовом походе Константинополя, дворец был разграблен солдатами Бонифаций Монферрат. Хотя последующие Латинские императоры продолжили использовать дворец, но им не хватило денег на его содержание. Последний латинский император, Балдуин II, дошел до продажи крыши дворца из-за нехватки денег

Следовательно, когда город был отбит силами Михаила VIII Палеолога в 1261 году Большой дворец был в плохом состоянии. Императоры Палеолога в значительной степени отказались от нее, правя с помощью Влахерны, и когда Мехмед II въехал в город в 1453 году, он обнаружил дворец разрушенным и заброшенным. Дворец был расположен на юго-восточной части полуострова, где расположен Константинополь, за ипподромом и собор Святой Софии. Дворец, по мнению ученых, был как цепь павильонов, похожий на Дворец Топкапы в Османской эпохе. Общая площадь поверхности Большого дворца превысила 200.000 квадратных футов (19 000 м2).

Главным входом во дворец было место где находилась ворота Чалк на Augustaion. Augustaion был расположен на южной стороне собора Святой Софии, и именно там, что главная улица города, Mese ("Мидл-стрит"), начиналось. К востоку от площади был дом Сената или Дворец Magnaura, где университет был размещен позже, а на западе Milion (милю маркер, из которых все расстояния измерялись), и старые термы Zeuxippus.

Сразу за воротами Чалк, которые смотрят на юг, были казармы дворцовой стражи, Scholae. После казармы стояли приемная из 19 Accubita ("Девятнадцать Диваны"), а затем Дворец Дафни, основная императорская резиденция в начале византийских времен. Она включала Octagon, спальню императора. Из Дафни, переход непосредственно привел к имперской окне (кафизмы) на ипподром. Основным тронным залом было Chrysotriklinos, построенный Юстином II, а также расширенный и отремонтированный Василием I. На северной части тронного зала был дворец Triconchos, построенный императором Феофила и доступный через полукруглый проход известный как Sigma. К востоку от Triconchos была щедро украшенная Неа экклесиа ("Новая церковь"), построенная Василием I, с пятью позолоченными куполами. Церковь выжила только после османского завоевания. Она была использована как складом пороха для оружия и взорвалась во время молния в 1490 году. Между церковью и стенами моря былa расположена игровая плошадка Tzykanisterion для игры поло.

Далее на юг, отделенный от основного комплекса лежал приморский дворец Bucoleon. Он был построен Феофилом, включая части моря стены, и широко использовался до 13-го века, особенно во время Латинской империи (1204-1261), чьи католические императоры из Западной Европы хотели приморский дворец. Морская ворота давала возмжность для прямого доступа к имперской гавани Bucoleon.

Early Booking Promotion
Request Form
Tour Reservation Form

Click to write comments
about Acra Hotel
Turkish HOTEL
AWARDS 2012
Recommended by Guests

The Acra Hotel rises on the remains of the Byzantine Great Palace of Constantinople (Turkish: Büyük Saray) also known as the Sacred Palace. You can see the 2000 year old remains of the palace at our ground restaurant. The palace (was) served as the main residence of the Eastern Roman or Byzantine emperors from 330 to 1081 and was the centre of imperial administration for over 800 years.

When Constantine I (The emperor) moved the Roman capital to Constantinople in 330, he planned out a palace for himself and his heirs. The palace was located between the Hippodrome and Hagia Sophia. It was rebuilt and expanded several times, especially under the emperors Justinian I and Theophilos reign.

Until the early 13th century, the Great Palace served as the primary administrative and ceremonial centre of the city, although from the early Comnenian era the palace of Blachernae was favoured as an imperial residence. During the sack of Constantinople by the Fourth Crusade, the Palace was plundered by the soldiers of Boniface of Montferrat. Although the subsequent Latin emperors continued to use the Palace complex, they lacked money for its maintenance. The last Latin emperor, Baldwin II, went as far as removing the lead roofs of the Palace and selling them.

Consequently, when the city was retaken by the forces of Michael VIII Palaeologus in 1261, the Great Palace was in a bad state. The Palaeologus emperors largely abandoned it, ruling from Blachernae, so that when Mehmed II entered the city in 1453, he discovered it to be ruined and abandoned.

The Palace was located in the southeastern corner of the peninsula where Constantinople is situated, behind the Hippodrome and the Hagia Sophia. The Palace is considered by scholars to have been a series of pavilions, much like the Ottoman-era Topkapı Palace that succeeded it. The total surface area of the Great Palace exceeded 200,000 square feet (19,000 m2).

The main entrance to the Palace quarter was the Chalke gate at the Augustaion. The Augustaion was located on the south side of the Hagia Sophia, and it was there that the city's main street, the Mese ("Middle Street"), began. To the east of the square lay the Senate house or Palace of Magnaura, where the University was later housed, and to the west the Milion (the mile marker, from which all distances were measured), and the old Baths of Zeuxippus.

Immediately behind the Chalke Gate, facing southwards, were the barracks of the Palace Guards, the Scholae. After the barracks stood the reception hall of the 19 Accubita ("Nineteen Couches"), followed by the Palace of Daphne, in early Byzantine times the main imperial residence. It included the Octagon, the emperor's bedchamber. From the Daphne, a passage led directly to the imperial box (kathisma) in the Hippodrome. The main throne room was the Chrysotriklinos, built by Justin II, and expanded and renovated by Basil I. To its north lay the Triconchos palace, built by the emperor Theophilos and accessible through a semicircular antechamber known as the Sigma. To the east of the Triconchos lay the lavishly decorated Nea Ekklesia ("New Church"), built by Basil I, with five gilded domes. The church survived until after the Ottoman conquest. It was used as a gunpowder magazine and exploded when it was struck by lightning in 1490. Between the church and the sea walls lay the polo field of the Tzykanisterion.

Further to the south, detached from the main complex lays the seaside palace of Bucoleon. It was built by Theophilos, incorporating parts of the sea walls, and used extensively until the 13th century, especially during the Latin Empire (1204-1261) whose Catholic emperors from Western Europe favoured the seaside palace. A seaward gate gave direct access to the imperial harbour of Bucoleon.

Tag: Design Hotel Sultanahmet Istanbul, Byzantine Great Palace of Constantinople,